Eddie Pepperell has been DQ'd for the second time in four months after he signed an incorrect scorecard leading him to be removed from the Qatar Masters.
Currently ranked 63rd in the world rankings, Pepperell needs to be inside the top 50 after the WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play in order to qualify for The Masters at Augusta in April.
After withdrawing from last week's event due to fears around the coronavirus, Pepperell was hoping to get the ball rolling this week at the Qatar Masters.
The Englishman started poorly at the Education City Golf Club in Doha, but bounced back making six birdies in eight holes to shoot a level par first round of 71.
Unfortunately, Pepperell signed for a par at the 16th and a birdie at the 17th, when he actually scored those two holes birdie-par.
Pepperell stated on Twitter that he noticed the mistake his playing partner had made and they made the appropriate changes to reflect the correct score, but Pepperell accidentally changed the wrong hole on his own score before signing it and handing it in.
The 2018 Qatar Masters champion accepted full responsibility on Twitter, but he feels that this particular way of disqualification is a drift from "common sense" in the sport.
"The rules are the rules and I 100% accept that," tweeted Pepperell. "But I can’t help feeling that this particular way of disqualification is a fair distance away from common sense, and that’s also disappointing. I enjoyed the course however and hopefully next time I’ll do a better job."
1/ FYI- My DQ today wasn’t due to me running out of balls, or hitting anyone, instead, I signed for a wrong score. My total, 71, was correct and I indeed signed for that. However, my partner had me down for a 5 on one hole where I made a 6, and a 4 on another, where I made 3...— Eddie Pepperell (@PepperellEddie) March 5, 2020
Pepperell's disqualification is his second on the European Tour in four months, after the 29-year-old was DQ'd from the Turkish Open back in November, where he ran out of golf balls.
Creds: Golf Magic